Digital elevation model SRTM30 WMS

Layername: SRTM30 Hillshade, SRTM30 Colored, SRTM30 Colored Hillshade, SRTM30 Contour Lines

Base URL: https://ows.terrestris.de/osm/service?

Capabilities-Document: https://ows.terrestris.de/osm/service?SERVICE=WMS&VERSION=1.1.1&REQUEST=GetCapabilities

These WMS show the power of the Digital Elevation Model (DEM) SRTM 30m and provide different ways of height visualization.

The data has been collected during the “Shuttle Radar Topography Mission” (SRTM) and has been enhanced over the years. We use the error corrected dataset with a resolution of 30 meters. The dataset covers the whole world, but it is limited to the area between 60° North und 56° South. The areas near to the poles is missing. If you want a WMS that covers the whole wolrd, have a look at our “TOPO-WMS”, it covers these missing areas with a low resolution DEM.

 

 

SRTM30 Hillshade

The WMS “SRTM30 Hillshade” serves the height data by using a hillshade effect, which gives a very vivid idea of the relief. This service can be used e.g. as a base map, to show other information on top. When using transparency on the layers above, the hillshade effect will become visibly nicely. This technique is used in our “SRTM30 Colored Hillshade” WMS by combining this and the “SRTM30 Colored” WMS.

 

 

 

 

 

SRTM30 Colored

The WMS “SRTM30 Colored” shows the height information by mapping the height to a specific color. We use a default colorramp for this, which means lower areas appear in a drak green, while higher areas or mountains will appear in brown up to white colors. Compared to our “TOPO-WMS”, this service only uses the SRTM30 dataset, which means that it has a unique overall resolution.

 

 

 

 

 

 

SRTM30 Colored Hillshade

This service connects the hillshade WMS (“SRTM30 Hillshade”) with the colored WMS (“SRTM30 Colored”), so that the relief will shine through the colored map. This way the map gets more vivid.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SRTM30 Contour Lines

The WMS “SRTM30 Contour Lines” shows the height information as contour lines (isohypses). These lines of the same height are rendered on the fly by a WPS-Process in the GeoServer. Please make sure to use an imageformat that supports transparency, like PNG. Also take note that this service is scale limited and starts rendering at about 1:1.000.000.

The image shows a combination of this layer together with our WMS “SRTM30 Colored Hillshade”.

 

 

 

 

 

All these WMS are served by GeoServer and get cached and accelerated by MapProxy.

The following coordinate systems can be used:

  • EPSG 4326 (WGS84)
  • EPSG 25832 (ETRS89 / UTM zone 32N)
  • EPSG 31466 (DHDN / Gauss-Krüger Zone 2)
  • EPSG 31467 (DHDN / Gauss-Krüger Zone 3)
  • EPSG 31468 (DHDN / Gauss-Krüger Zone 4)
  • EPSG 3857 / EPSG 900913 (Google Mercator Projection)

 

Note:

These services are based on the SRTM 30m dataset of NASA. If you want to use the services in your own application, make sure to respect the corresponding copyrights. You can have a look at our Capabilities-document to see which data is used and which copyrights apply.

Demo:

Höhenmodell SRTM30 WMS

Layername: SRTM30 Hillshade, SRTM30 Colored, SRTM30 Colored Hillshade, SRTM30 Contour Lines

Basis URL: https://ows.terrestris.de/osm/service?

Capabilities-Dokument: https://ows.terrestris.de/osm/service?SERVICE=WMS&VERSION=1.1.1&REQUEST=GetCapabilities

Diese Dienste visualisieren auf unterschiedliche Arten die Höheninformation des digitalen Höhenmodells SRTM 30m.

Die Daten wurden während der „Shuttle Radar Topography Mission“ (SRTM) erhoben und fortlaufend verbessert. Wir verwenden den neuen, fehlerkorrigierten Datensatz mit einer Auflösung von 30 Metern. Die Daten haben eine weltweite Ausdehnung, sind allerdings begrenzt auf den Bereich zwischen 60° Nord und 56° Süd. Es fehlen also, im Gegensatz zu unserem „TOPO-WMS“-Dienst, die Pole und umliegende Bereiche.

 

 

SRTM30 Hillshade

Der Dienst „SRTM30 Hillshade“ stellt die Höheninformation mittels einer „Schummerung“ dar und gibt einen sehr räumlichen Eindruck der Topographie. Dieser Dienst lässt sich auch gut als Grundkarte verwenden, um darauf weitere flächenhafte Themen darzustellen. Werden die überlagernden Themen mit einer leichten Transparent versehen, entsteht ein plastischer Effekt. Der WMS „SRTM30 Colored Hillshade“ macht sich dies zu nutze, in dem er die WMS „SRTM30 Hillshade“ und „SRTM30 Colored“ auf diese Weise kombiniert.

 

 

 

 

 

SRTM30 Colored

Der WMS „SRTM30 Colored“ stellt die Höheninformation mittels einer gängigen Farbskala dar. Niedrige Bereiche erscheinen in dunklem grün, hohe hingegen in braun bis hin zu weiß. Im Gegensetz zu unserem Dienst „TOPO-WMS“ verwendet dieser WMS ausschließlich das SRTM30 Höhenmodell und hat somit eine einheitliche Auflösung.

 

 

 

 

 

 

SRTM30 Colored Hillshade

Dieser Dienst verbindet die Schummerungskarte („SRTM30 Hillshade“) mit der farbigen Karte („SRTM30 Colored“), so dass mittels Transparenz auf der farbigen Karte die Schattierungen hindurchscheinen und so einen plastischen Effekt liefern

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SRTM30 Contour Lines

Der Dienst „SRTM30 Contour Lines“ stellt die Höhe über Isohypsen (Linien gleicher Höhe dar). Die Höhenlinien werden dynamisch über einen WPS-Prozess im GeoServer erzeugt. Für eine sinnvolle Darstellung achten Sie bitte beim Bildformat darauf, dass dieses Transparenzen unterstützt, z.B. PNG. Zudem ist dieser Dienst maßstabsabhängig, und wird erst ab einem Maßstab von etwa 1:1.000.000 dargestellt.

Die Abbildung zeigt eine Kombination mit dem WMS „SRTM30 Colored Hillshade“

 

 

 

 

 

Die Dienste werden über einen GeoServer bereitgestellt und mit Hilfe von MapProxy beschleunigt.

Es stehen die folgenden Koordinatensysteme zur Auswahl:

  • EPSG 4326 (WGS84)
  • EPSG 25832 (ETRS89 / UTM zone 32N)
  • EPSG 31466 (DHDN / Gauss-Krüger Zone 2)
  • EPSG 31467 (DHDN / Gauss-Krüger Zone 3)
  • EPSG 31468 (DHDN / Gauss-Krüger Zone 4)
  • EPSG 3857 / EPSG 900913 (Google Mercator Projektion)

 

Hinweis:

Diese Dienste basieren auf Datensatz SRTM 30m der NASA. Wenn Sie diese Dienste in ihre eigene Anwendung einbinden möchten müssen Sie dafür Sorge tragen, dass die Herkunft, bzw das Copyright der Daten ersichtlich ist. Das entsprechende Copyright finden Sie auch in dem Capabilities-Dokument dieser Dienste.

Demo: